I think by now all of you might have heard about the Vanish Mode on Instagram. Well, if you don’t, let’s just know everything about it.
Ever since Facebook merged the Facebook Messenger and Instagram chats, users have expressed mixed reactions. Now there are a lot of cool chat features on Instagram that you can utilize while chatting.
However, the most interesting new feature is the Vanish Mode on Instagram. In this article, I will be discussing everything about the Vanish Mode on Instagram and know what it’s all about.
What is Vanish Mode on Instagram and Facebook Messenger?
For users who use Snapchat, the Vanish mode on Instagram is something along the lines of chat that you use on Snapchat.
For users who don’t, think of it as temporary messages on Instagram and Facebook Messenger. The messages got deleted once the chats are seen. So if I send a message to my friend in Vanish mode and my friend sees it and closes the chat, the messages just get deleted.
Ultimately the messages disappear after the other user has seen the messages. It works on both Instagram and Facebook Messenger the same way. It is only for individual contacts.
The Idea of Temporary Messages
The idea of temporary messages or disappearing messages is nothing new. Snapchat has been using this technique for a long time. When you send a message and the other user sees it and closes the chat, the message gets deleted.
It is quite an interesting mode as for the most part, we never really have any important conversations on Instagram. Mostly they are sharing posts, memes, videos, and chats that are just in the moment. We never go back and them so it is just better if they do not take much of the space in chats.
Instagram already has an option to unsend messages but it can be done only one-by-one. That can be a bit lengthy. So for just random unimportant conversations, you can simply use the Vanish Mode on Instagram and Facebook Messenger.
Some Important Queries Regarding the Vanish Mode on Instagram
Does Vanish Mode Send Notifications About Screenshots?
Yes, if you take a screenshot in Vanish Mode, the other user will get the notification that you took a screenshot. So you might have to be a little careful. On the other hand, you can take screenshots in normal mode and no one will be alerted.
What Messages Can be Sent While Using Vanish Mode?
Well, there is no restriction as to what type of messages you can send in Vanish Mode. You can send all your text messages, videos, GIFs, etc.
However, do note that once the other user sees your messages in Vanish Mode, they will disappear.
Will the Other User Know If I Turn On Vanish Mode?
Vanish Mode works both ways. So as soon as you turn it on, the other user will know it. The screen will display Vanish Mode on both sides.
What Happens to My Old Messages?
Here’s a thing: when you turn on Vanish Mode, your old chats will be totally safe but you won’t be able to access them during the Vanish Mode turned on. As soon as you turn off Vanish Mode, you will be able to access your old messages.
Your old messages will be totally untouched no matter if the Vanish Mode is on or off.
Can I Unsend Messages in Vanish Mode?
If you look at it, the Vanish Mode is just a mass-scale version of unsend message feature on Instagram.
Interestingly, you can unsend messages in Vanish Mode. So even if you send something wrong in Vanish Mode, you can still unsend it.
Turning On Vanish Mode
Instagram has made it very easy to turn on Vanish Mode. All you have to do is swipe up from the bottom till you see that it is activated.
Another way to activate Vanish mode is by going to the chat settings. Just click on the user name and then turn on the toggle for Vanish Mode.
Turning Off Vanish Mode
You can turn off the Vanish Mode on Instagram the same way you turn it on. That is by swiping up from the bottom.
Additionally, you can also tap on the button at the top to turn off the Vanish Mode.
What Happens When I Turn Off Vanish Mode?
Well, when you turn off the Vanish Mode, everything goes back to normal. You will be able to see your old chats and everything will work like it used to.
The important thing here is if you have turned off the Vanish Mode and the other user has not seen the message, it will still appear in Vanish Mode and once the user has seen it, the message will disappear on both sides.
So that is all about the Vanish Mode on Instagram and Facebook Messenger. It is a good way to chat if all you do on Instagram is share memes and other unimportant stuff.
Also, Read: How to Download Instagram Videos on Phone and PC